Chili for picky-ish eaters…

As winter approaches, families start breaking out their “comfort food” recipes.  And for many people, that means soup.

Bryce and I are both big chicken noodle soup fans, and I make a mean potato soup, but that’s about it. So I decided it’s time to start expanding our soup boundaries.

Tonight… we started with chili.

M chili experiment.

If you’re looking for the standard tomato chunk-bean-meat chili, look elsewhere.

Bryce and I both hate beans, and we’re not big fans of tomato chunks in any kind of food.  So I set out to create my own chili recipe.

I started with the two basics, ground beef and tomato sauce.  I also added onions, green peppers, and roasted Poblano peppers, to give it a little heat.

Next the spices.  I used chili powder, cumin, garlic, paprika, parsley, and oregano.  I also added a little hot sauce, and a can of beer to give the flavor a little more depth.

Simmering away...

In the end, it turned out really delicious.  I was kind of surprised, based on the fact that I wasn’t using a recipe.

It also made for great leftovers, since it thickened up quite a bit in the fridge.

It’s definitely a recipe I’ll make again, though I don’t think I could exactly replicate it every time.

Take chance on making your own recipe! To me, cooking is all about getting exactly what you want.  There are endless possibilities, and you’d be surprised what you can create all on your own!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

