Swedish Pancakes!

Every family has those recipes that have been passed down for generations. And my family is no exception.

I come from both German and Swedish heritage, and while the German side has some amaaaazing food (bratwurst, sauerkraut, schnitzel of any kind, beer… I could go on for days), this post is about the Swedes.

As long as I can remember, we’ve been eating what we call Swedish pancakes. I have no idea if they’re an actual Swedish dish, or just something we call “Swedish”, but we eat the crap out of them.

I first had them at my grandma’s house. She would make them when we’d come to visit, and often spent the whole morning in the kitchen, making them one at a time.

My mom makes them at home as well, and my brothre inhales them like it’s his last meal.

I took Bryce home with me once, and he was introduced to the art that is the Swedish pancake. He has since insisted I learn how to make them, and requests them constantly.

So by now, you’re wondering, “What the heck is a Swedish pancake?”

And to make a long blog post short (but not really)… it’s a crepe.

A really thin pancake. Yep. That’s it.

The Swedish Pancake

The recipe contains all of 3 ingredients, and they’re probably in your fridge adn cupboards already.

Here’s how it goes:
-3 eggs
-2 cups milk
-1 cup flour

And that’s it. I’m not kidding.

I call it the 3-2-1 recipe, for obvious reasons. Occasionally, I’ll spice things up a bit and add a fourth ingredient: a little cinnamon in the batter. (Did you catch the “spice” pun in that sentence? Genius.)

Here’s how to make them:

Whisk everything together. Spray a 12″ skillet with cooking spray so things don’t stick, then ladle in the batter. I pour batter until the circle is about 6 inches across, then I swirl the pan so it covers the bottom all the way to the edges.

Cook until the bubbles start to come through, or until the bottom side is golden brown. Then flip and cook until the other side is done.

My pancake spatula. It's seriously the only thing I use this for.

It’s helpful to have a big, wide spatula to get underneath as much of the pancake as you can.

You can eat them however you like, but at home we spread butter on them, then sprinkle with sugar or drizzle with maple syrup. Then hook your fork under one edge and roll the whole thing up.

Roll. Then eat.

And there you have it. It’s a twist on the usual breakfast pancake, but one that kids and adults alike will love.

Don’t worry if you screw them up a few times before getting one that works out. I can’t count the number of times I’ve messed them up. (Too thick, too thin, burnt, unsuccessful flip, etc.) Cooking is not an art of perfection, and it takes a little practice.

I  hope you give this recipe a shot, and I hope all goes well for you. Don’t forget, you can always drop a comment below if you have troubles, I’ll do my best to help!

Enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

